(Click anywhere in the header above to return to previous page)

Outstanding 2013 Football Player Awards

Frantz - Rider - Yohe Awards Banquet
Sponsored jointly by the Lions Clubs of Columbia, Elizabethtown, and Lititz


WHEN: Thursday, December 5, 2013, 6:30 PM

WHERE:  General Sutter Inn, Lititz, Pennsylvania

A brief history of the Outstanding Football Player Awards Program

The origin of these awards dates all the way back to before 1969 when the Lititz Lions Club and the Elizabethtown Lions Club first sought to recognize the outstanding football players from high schools in the Lancaster-Lebanon League.  The Lititz Lions Club chose to honor a former Lion and Warwick High School coach - Bernie Rider. The Elizabethtown Club named its award for a former Lion and coach at Elizabethtown High School - Bill Frantz. More recently, the Columbia Lions Club elected to recognize one of Columbia's former coaches - Jack Yohe. Over the years, there have been many changes in the schools and the way the league is organized. There have also been changes in the way the awards have been handled, but the awards have always been for the purpose of recognizing significant achievement on the playing field. Today,the tradition continues with the joint "Frantz-Rider-Yohe" awards.

We are pleased to present the 2013 recipients pictured below:

Charlie Bell (Coach Mealy)-Mark Pyles (Coach Yonchiuk)-Cameron Strause (Coach Miller)


Section 1 Charlie Bell Penn Manor Coach Mealy
Section 2 Mark Pyles Lebanon Coach Yonchiuk
Section 3 Cameron Strause Elco Coach Miller
hough principe
Master of Ceremonies-Lion Mark Hough Guest Speaker Pat Principe WGAL TV
mealy keith
Penn Manor Coach Todd Mealy Lititz Pres Keith Lundsten/Charlie Bell
yonchiuk pyles
Lebanon Coach Gerry Yonchiuk Mark Pyles/Elizabethtown Pres Joe Ditzler
miller strause
Elco Coach Bob Miller Columbia Lion Jack Yohe/Cameron Strause



Eric Ackerman (Cocalico)
Alex Auston (Reading)
Mike Carver (Ephrata)
Mike Cook (Conestoga Valley)
Joe Dougherty (Manheim Central)
Jaren Hayes (Cedar Crest)
Dan Kreider (Manheim Central)
Mike Madara (Donegal)
Matt Nagy (Manheim Central)
Andy Paine (Cedar Crest)
Elly Salmamo (Reading)
Jeff Smoker, 2 (Manheim Central)
Ryan Strickler (Columbia)
Lamar Stewart (Reading)
Chris Waltman (Garden Spot)
Zack Kulp, 2 (ELCO)
Brandon Kirsch (Cedar Crest)
Bryan Risser (Elizabethtown)
Chad Henne (Wilson)
Corby Ziegler (Manheim Central)
Brett Janis (Cocalico)
James Bryant (Reading)
Jarryd Moyer (Manheim Central)
Nick Brubaker (Lampeter-Strasburg)
George Eager (ManheimTownship)
Shane Martin (Garden Spot)
David Burrell (Annville-Cleona)
Pat Bostick, 2 (Manheim Township)
Graham Zug (Manheim Central)
Vinny LaSelva (ELCO)
Nick Downey (ELCO)
Jon Resh (Warwick)
Blake Crowther (Ephrata)
Justin Smith (Lampeter-Strausburg)
Colton Weaver (Wilson)
Kyle Fisher (Cocalico)
Kyle Smith (Lanc. Catholic)
Brian Sourber (Wilson)
Kevin Kelly (Conestoga Valley)
Arron Achey (ELCO)
Derson Thompson (Warwick)
Austin Hartman (Cocalico)
Ricky Snyder (Annville-Cleona)
Rodney Gillin (Wilson)
John Armbrust (Garden Spot)
John Martin (Donegal)

Merry Christmas-Happy New Year!

christmas tree